We think we know but we have no idea

Okay so we all say that there’s things in life that we want – right? Of course. We all want to be happy, we all want love in some way, success, wealth, health, fun, the list goes on eternally. But what does that even mean? Everyone defines these things differently. I know I want to be happy, but I can’t put a label on what that means. I know what I want to be successful, but I have no idea on where to start with that either.

I’m not trying to pin point what it is that things should be, but rather what it is that I think I want. I know the generic words for the things that I want, but I don’t know how to get them. Everyone has their own battles and everyone has their own moments of happiness. I’m trying to make my current battle – easier. However, in the situation I’ve been stuck in I keep coming up short.

It hit me that because I can’t really define what these things mean, I can’t figure this stuff out. I know it’s a personal journey and I know life is a work in progress. No one has all the answers, but wouldn’t it be nice to have some? We don’t need to stick like glue to the definitions we create for what it is that we want, but shouldn’t we know somewhere inside our minds how to define what it is we think we want? Just a starting point. Whether we find out we were wrong or right doesn’t matter. It is in the journey but where do we begin? I’m pretty sure the dictionary can’t help me with this one. I know I just think too much about too much, but I can’t be the only one out here driving myself crazy.

Leave a Reply

